Board Members

Dr Darren Russell (Chairperson) – Director, Cairns Sexual Health Service

Darren Russell

Dr Darren Russell is a sexual health physician and the Director of Sexual Health at Cairns Hospital. He holds the positions of Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Population Health at the University of Melbourne and Adjunct Associate Professor in the School of Medicine and Dentistry at James Cook University.

Dr Russell is the Chairperson of the HIV Foundation Queensland and a past-President of the Australasian Chapter of Sexual Health Medicine of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians, the Victorian AIDS Council, and the Australian Federation of AIDS Organisations.

Professor Jeffrey Gow – Professor Health Economics, University of Southern Queensland 

Professor Gow

Professor Gow has a PhD in Health Policy and Economics. He has 15 years’ experience in public health research into HIV/AIDS and was principal investigator on numerous HIV research studies and programmes. He has been published more than 80 times and worked on HIV/AIDS policies and programs to international bodies and governments such as UNAIDS, World Health Organisation, UNICEF and the South African Government.

Dr Andrew Redmond – Infectious Disease Physician

Dr Andrew Redmond

Dr Andrew Redmond is an infectious diseases physician at the Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital. He has a longstanding interest in HIV medicine. He is a member of the Australasian Society for HIV Medicine and Australasian Society for Infectious Diseases. He teaches medical students, specialists-in-training and general practitioners about HIV medicine. 

David Graham – Businessman and rural advocate

David Graham

David Graham has a background in media and business. He has been an advocate for rural and remote gay and lesbian health. He has used his media presence to promote good health and HIV/AIDs awareness campaigns. Mr Graham has strong links with the gay and lesbian community.